Reflection — 2D Space Shooter

Jack Leavey
Jun 12, 2022

--

This project served as a wonderful refresher to C# and required the use of many simple programming practices and behaviors. With the scale of the project being so small, it is easy to comprehend utilizing arrays, switch statements, while loops, and more without being overwhelmed by complex game design.

While simple, it’s a playable game that can be enjoyed!

There is a lot more that can be done with this project and I may revisit it in the future to add more features and gameplay elements. For instance, I prototyped a boss stage, but ended up putting the design on hold as I wish to continue into other mediums of game design and get into more complex programming in 3D environments!

He was a big one!

If you too want to learn concepts of game design and see how to implement popular systems in Unity, read through my previous articles, and follow me for more content to come!

--

--

Jack Leavey

I am a software engineer with years of experience branching into game development, specifically in Unity. Follow along for guides on creating game mechanics!